• BCSum15_E_Click_01


  • BCSum15_E_Click_02


  • BCSum15_E_Click_03


  • BCSum15_E_Click_04


  • BCSum15_E_Click_05


  • BCSum15_E_Click_06


Summer 2015

Law Day 2015

(Photo IDs are left to right) 1. 2015 Honorees: David Schoen ’84, Professor Robert Bloom ’71, Professor Emerita Ruth-Arlene W. Howe ’74, and Honorable Leslie Harris ’84. 2. Justice Roderick Ireland. 3. Meg Connolly ’70, Michael Mone ’67, and Norman Jacobs ’64. 4. Kenny Sambour ’13 and Caroline Spillane ’12. 5. Professor Emerita Ruth-Arlene W. Howe ’74. 6. Chuck Walker ’78 and Susan Maze-Rothstein ’85.

Several hundred people attended Boston College Law School’s annual Law Day event on April 30th at the Boston Harbor Hotel to celebrate the honorees: Professor Emerita Ruth-Arlene W. Howe ’74 (St. Thomas More Award); Professor Robert M. Bloom ’71 (William J. Kenealy, SJ, Alumnus of the Year Award); David Schoen ’84 (Honorable David S. Nelson Public Interest Law Award); and the Honorable Leslie E. Harris ’84 (Daniel G. Holland Lifetime Achievement Award).

This year’s event included a special tribute to the Law School’s Black Alumni Network on its thirtieth anniversary, as well as a commemoration of the recent fiftieth anniversary of the Civil Rights Act. Preceding the event, Goulston & Storrs hosted a roundtable discussion entitled “The Fiftieth Anniversary of the Civil Rights Act—What has Been Accomplished? What Remains to be Done?”

At the awards ceremony, former chief justice Roderick Ireland of the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts and BC Law Dean Vincent Rougeau offered comments on how much has changed and how far we have come as a society since the days of the Civil Rights Act. They were followed by powerful presentations from the honorees in which they credited mentors and others in the alumni community with helping them to achieve what otherwise might not have been possible.

The Law School is grateful to the many generous sponsors who, along with the hundreds in attendance, contributed toward this splendid evening, which successfully raised enough to support a Law Day Scholar next year.

Law Day 2015 Sponsors

Boston College Law School Black Alumni Network
Esdaile, Barrett, Jacobs & Mone
Goulston & Storrs
Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo
Adler Pollock & Sheehan
Conn Kavanaugh Rosenthal Peisch & Ford
EMC Corporation
Hemenway & Barnes
Holland & Knight
Jones Day
Liberty Mutual
McGrath & Kane
Morgan, Brown & Joy
Nutter McClennen & Fish
O’Malley and Harvey
Proskauer Rose
Seyfarth Shaw
Silk Road Advisory & Strategic Partners, Edward Leahy ’ 71
Witmer, Karp, Warner & Ryan
Beck Reed Riden

To view more photos of Law Day, go to www.bc.edu/lawday.

Comments are closed.