open menu


They Have Given of Themselves

Law Day 2022 honors five alumni for their contributions to the BC Law community and the legal profession.

Photographs by John Gillooly

The BC Law community came together to honor five distinguished alumni at the Westin Boston Seaport on Law Day, held April 27. As the awards ceremony began, Interim Dean Diane Ring welcomed the 200 guests and acknowledged the work of Law Day Committee Co-chairs Susan M. Finegan ’91 and Elizabeth Pendergast ’11.

Ring also expressed appreciation for the awardees’ contributions to the law and to society. “As I look at the honorees tonight, I can think of no better advocates for, or representatives of, the sanctity of the rule of law,” she said. “They have given of themselves—through their words and actions—with the goal of giving voice to those who do not have one, and utilizing law to create a more just society.

This year’s St. Thomas More Award was given to Marianne Short NC’73, JD’76, P’05. The William J. Kenealy, SJ, Alumnus of the Year Award was posthumously presented to Kevin Curtin ’81, MA’87, JD’88 and accepted by his wife, Susan M. Jeghelian. The Daniel G. Holland Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed on Thomas Jorlin JD ’66. Chiquisha “Keisha” Robinson JD’05 received the Hon. David S. Nelson Public Interest Law Award. And Arianne Waldron MEd’14, JD’14, was recognized with the Recent Graduate Award.

“We thank you for all our have done to make our world a better place,” Ring said.